Planning Ahead – Weaning

I’ve been trying to plan ahead and think about weaning Noah, or rather, to be more accurate, about how to start him on semi-solids. Originally, I was going to go with the norm, get one of those steamer-blenders and start with the standard puree and rice cereal. However, I’m now thinking if we should go with the baby-led weaning method instead. I know it’s still a little early to be thinking about it but I do need start doing some proper research soon. All I read previously was about pregnancy, breastfeeding and taking care of newborns, so I’m beginning to panic because I feel utterly unprepared for this next stage!

I am now torn between the Philips Avent steamer blender and the Beaba Babycook. That is, IF I choose not to try baby-led weaning. I need something that will save me time, both in terms of preparing the food as well as washing up, because I foresee myself getting busier as Noah grows. I will then need to start investing in those freezer trays for storing purees too, and free up some space in our freezer. Right now, our freezer has quite a bit of frozen breast milk which I think can’t be kept for much longer. My mum has been asking me to donate the frozen breastmilk but I don’t know anyone who needs it! Seems like quite a waste to throw it all away but since Noah can’t be bottle-fed, it looks like that’s the only option at the moment.

If any of you have tried baby-led weaning, I’d love to hear what you think of it! C doesn’t think I’ll be able to do it as I’m not very good at handling messes and from what I’ve read, baby-led weaning is a really messy but rewarding process. Feedback on the two different steamer-blenders will also be most welcome. I need all the help I can get!

2 Comments

Filed under Growing Up, Noah, Weaning

2 responses to “Planning Ahead – Weaning

  1. Hello it’s me! I bought the Baby Led Weaning cookbook (don’t ask me why cos I’ve not used it at all) but feel free to borrow from me as it contains guidelines on how BLW works as as well as recipes that the whole family can share.
    And actually, if Noah is anything like Gabe, even normal feeding can end up being messy lah…
    Finally, you can try a mix of BLW and feeding of puree food. I think some people do that.

Hi! Thanks for reading my post. Please leave a comment to let me know what you think of it. :)

